Remote Data Access - change your main site to a new location
Description

With Remote Data Access (RDA), your data uploads at the main site and then is accessed remotely from remote sites. Here's how to change your rda main site to a new location for Sage 50 Accounts v27.

NOTE:

In Sage 50 Accounts v28, all tasks can be done on every site, making things easier to manage. Where possible we recommend installing Sage 50 Accounts v28 rather than following the steps below.

 

Cause
Resolution

 

TIP:

If you're not sure, you can check if you are at a main or remote site >

 

Things to be aware of

If you want to move your Remote Data Access main site to a new location, there are some points you need to consider:

Set up these features again - If you move your main site, you'll need to configure the following features again:

Online Sage account details - The user uploading the data, and anyone reconnecting to it, needs their Sage account login details.

Steps to change your main site to a new location

Follow these steps to make a remote site or new computer the main site and reconnect your remote sites:


Take a backup of your data

Before continuing, it's important you take a backup of your data. This will be the data you'll restore and re-upload to Remote Data Access. You'll need to transfer this backup to the computer at the site that's going to be your new main site.

NOTE:

If you can't create a new backup, restore a recent backup and re-enter any missing transactions. Contact Sage Support to check whether data recovery from your remote site is possible.

 


Disconnect all remote sites from Remote Data Access

CAUTION:

When you disconnect remote sites from Remote Data Access, the data at that remote site is lost. Ensure you have at least one current backup of your data.

 

At each remote site, disconnect all companies from Remote Data Access.

  1. Open Sage 50 Accounts.
  2. On the Company Selection window, press the ellipsis (three dots) to the left of the company name you want to disconnect.

  3. Select Remove Remote Data Access, enter your logon name and password then press OK.
  4. Select Yes then press OK.

Disconnect the main site from Remote Data Access and remove the company

NOTE:

If you no longer have access to the main site, you can ignore this step. As you haven't removed the old company from Remote Data Access, make sure you don't select this when reconnecting to your new data.

 

  1. At your main site, open Sage 50 Accounts.
  2. On the Company Selection window, locate the company you want to disconnect.
  3. If the company shows Online - Main in the Remote Data Access column, select the ellipsis (three dots) to the left of the company name.
  4. Select Remove Remote Data Access, enter your logon name and password then press OK.
  5. Choose Yes then OK.
  6. To remove the company, press the ellipsis (three dots) to the left of the company name. Select Remove, then press Yes.

Check all sites have the same software version

Check that each site has the same version of Sage 50 Accounts installed:

  • Open Sage 50 Accounts and on the Company Selection window check the program version.

If required, install the relevant updates to ensure all versions are the same. Read more >


Restore your data at the new main site

NOTE:

If the computer you want to be the new main site doesn't have Sage 50 Accounts installed yet, you can download and install the version you need from the Installation help centre. All sites must be on the same version.

 

  1. At the new main site, reopen Sage 50 Accounts after disconnecting from Remote Data Access. The Add a Company window should appear.

    If the Company Selection window appears instead, select Add Company.

  2. Choose Restore, then Browse and select the backup you want to restore.
  3. Select Continue and press Restore.
  4. Logon using your Manager logon and password.

Re-upload your data at the new main site

At the new main site, you can now re-upload your data to Remote Data Access.

To do this, follow our guide on how to setup up Remote Data Access. Read more >


Reconnect your other remote sites to the new main site

At all other remote sites, you must now connect to the data shared at the new main site.

To do this, follow our guide on how to access a company remotely using Remote Data Access. Read more >


Find out more in our dedicated Help Centre

To help you with Remote Data Access, we've pulled together everything you need.
Visit the Help Centre.

Steps to duplicate
Related Solutions