Remote Data Access - temporarily change your main site to a new location
Description

NOTE:

If you use Sage 50 Accounts v28, you can complete all tasks from any site, making Remote Data Access easier to manage. Where possible, we recommend installing Sage 50 Accounts v28 instead of following the steps below.

With Remote Data Access, you upload your data at the main site, then access it from your remote sites.

If you have limited access to your main site, you may find Remote Data Access harder to manage. You complete certain tasks at the main site, such as upgrading and converting your data.

If needed, you can move your main site to a remote or new location.

TIP:

If you're not sure, you can check if you are a main or remote site >

Cause
Resolution

Things to be aware of

Changing your main site – if you need to change your main site again later, follow this guide to repeat the process.

Set up your features again – after changing your main site, you’ll need to set up any of these features you use:

  • Scheduled Backup
  • Bank Feeds
  • Invoice Payments
  • GoCardless
  • Microsoft 365 integration
  • Connected Cloud

Have your Sage ID ready – you’ll need your Sage ID to upload or reconnect to the data.

Where possible, complete any tasks at your current main site before changing it. This includes upgrading and converting your data. Otherwise, follow the steps below to change it.

Steps to change your main site to a new location

Here we explain how to change a remote site to become the main site and reconnect your other remote sites:


1. Take a backup of your data

Before continuing, it's important you take a backup of your data. This will be the data you'll restore and re-upload to Remote Data Access (formerly Sage Drive). You'll need to transfer this backup to the computer that's going to be your new main site.

NOTE:

If you can't take a new backup, use a recent backup and reprocess any transactions, or contact Sage Support about recovering your data from your remote site.


2. Disconnect all sites from Remote Data Access

CAUTION:

When you disconnect remote sites from Remote Data Access, the data at that remote site will be lost. Please ensure you have at least one recent backup of your data.

At all your remote sites, so you're no longer connecting to the data at the main site, you must disconnect all your companies from Remote Data Access:

  1. Open Sage 50 Accounts.
  2. On the Company Selection window, select the ellipsis (three dots) to the left of the company name you want to disconnect.

  3. Select Remove Remote Data Access, enter your logon name and password then press OK.
  4. Select Yes then press OK.

Once your remote sites are disconnected, at the main site, disconnect the company from the Sage account.


3. Restore your data at the new main site

  1. At the new main site, on re-opening Sage 50 Accounts after disconnecting from Remote Data Access, the Add a company window should appear, if the Company Selection window appears instead, select Add Company.
  2. Choose Restore, then press Browse and select the backup you want to restore.
  3. Select Continue and press Restore.
  4. Logon using your Manager logon and password.

NOTE:

If the computer you want to be the new main site doesn't have Sage 50 Accounts installed yet, you can download and install the version you need from the Installation Help Centre. All sites must be the same version number.


4. Re-upload your data at the new main site

At the new main site, you can now re-upload your data to Remote Data Access or Sage Drive. Read more >


5. Reconnect your other remote sites to the new main site

At all other remote sites, you must now connect to the data shared at the new main site. Read more >


Find out more in our dedicated Help Centre

To help you with Remote Data Access, we've pulled together everything you need.
Visit the Help Centre.

Steps to duplicate
Related Solutions