Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Manage Users

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

How to add and edit users in Sage Accounting and Sage Payroll.

Description

Everyone who accesses your data should have their own account. This allows for increased data security as well as allowing you better visibility of who has added which transactions.

 NOTE: In Sage Accounting Start, you are limited to the business owner, an accountant, and 1 additional user. For other products, there is no limit on the number of users. 

Resolution

Do things look different? 

We've updated the user settings to give you better control over access permissions and enable your users to complete tasks previously restricted to the business owner. 

Existing users will have the same access roles as before, unless you edit their role. 


Add a new user

If the new user is an accountant, follow the steps on this article >

  1. Go to your business name, then select Manage Users.
  2. Select Add User.
    Image
  3. Enter the new users email address
  4. Select the Product and the Role from the drop down options. Learn more about managing user roles here >
    You can only have one role per product.
    Image
  5. Select the preferred language for the user.
  6. Select Add to complete adding the user. 
  7. The new user will receive an email inviting them to join your business. They just need to select the link and fill in their details. 
  8. You can assign clients to the user now or later in Client Management. To do it later, go to Settings, Assign Clients or select Assign clients in the Actions column from Manage users or Pending users.

 TIP: If you have more than one business you access, follow the same steps. Once you've accepted the invite, you can go to the business name and select which business you want to access.  


View and Edit a user

You can view your users and edit their roles as needed. You can't change the Business Owner. 

  1. Go to your business name, then select Manage Users. When you are on the Manage users section you can view all your current users. 
  2. Select the relevant user, or search using the search box.
  3. Select the Role to see what the user can do.
    Image
  4. If you need to change their role, select Edit user.
    Learn more about managing user roles here >
    You can only have one role per product.
  5. Make the changes.
     NOTE: To edit the name, or email address, the user can do this themselves by following these steps >
  6. Select Save.

You can also assign clients to users you've invited to Client Management by selecting Assign clients from the Actions column. 

 NOTE: The user must log out for the changes to take effect.


Remove a user

You can change the role of the user, or remove them completely.

  1. Go to your business name, then select Manage Users.
  2. Select the relevant user, or search using the search box.
  3. Select Edit user.
     NOTE: If you need to remove more than one role from a user, remove them one at a time, selecting Save each time. 
  4. To change or remove a role, select Remove next to the role.
     CAUTION: If you Remove all the roles from a user, their profile is deleted when you next select Save
  5. Select Save.

If you delete the user, they will see an error message if they try and access your business. 

     

Related Solutions