Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Unallocate transactions

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

What happens when you unallocate a payment and credit notes from invoices in Sage Accounting.

Resolution

How to unallcoate payments and credit notes from invoices. You may need to do this to

  • Edit or delete (void) an invoice to which you have allocated a payment or credit note
  • The payment or receipt has been incorrectly allocated

How this works

Unallocating a transaction just means that you remove the link between an invoice and the payment. You may want to do this if you have matched a payment to the wrong invoice, or when you need to edit or delete the invoice.

Once unallocated:

  • We update the invoice and show it as unpaid
  • We save the payment as a payment on account so you can match it to another invoice
  • The balance of your customer or supplier account remains the same
  • The balance of your bank account is not affected

 NOTE: Unallocating a transaction does not remove it from the bank reconciliation. 

What to do

For sales transactions read the Unallocate sales transactions help guide.

For purchase transactions read the Unallocate purchase transactions help guide.




Related Solutions

Unallocate sales transactions

Unallocate purchase transactions´╗┐