Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Delete bank transactions

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

How to delete bank transactions entered or imported in error in Sage Accounting.

Description

The process will vary depending on the type of transaction and its status.

You can't:

Resolution

How this works

When deleting a bank transaction, we remove the transaction from your bank account in Sage Accounting. This also updates the bank balance.


Delete a bank transaction

  1. From Banking, select the relevant bank account.
  2. From the Activity tab, select the tick box to the left the transactions you want to delete. A toolbar now appears above the list.
    bank_reconcilliations_2

  3. From the toolbar, select the Delete icon.

Cleared transactions

We add a cleared check mark to all transactions imported from a bank feed or bank statement.

This tells you that the transaction comes from your bank statement or bank feed. Your bank balance then reflects this.

When you delete a cleared transaction, we show you a message to remind you to check your bank statement. This is because when you reconcile your bank account, the transaction may be different from what's on your bank statement.

Reconciled transactions

When you delete a reconciled transaction:

  • We show it on your bank reconciliation with a Removed from reconciliation status. This shows in the Corrected Transaction column, to tell you it's now deleted
  • We adjust the Starting Balance of your next bank reconciliation, by the amount of the deleted transaction. This is because the Starting Balance is always the total value of all reconciled transactions, up to the statement date
  • We do not update the Reconciled Balance

 

Related Solutions