Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

What happens when I archive my data at year end?

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

This guide explains what happens when you archive your data in Sage 50cloud Accounts at year end.

Description

When you run your year end, it's a good idea to create an archive of your data. When you choose this, it does the following:

  • Takes a snapshot of your data as it is just before the year end process runs.
  • Makes the snapshot available as a read-only set of data within the Company Archive option.

This makes it easy to report on previous year data, without current year postings getting in the way. It also gives you the freedom to delete old postings and records in your live data, safe in the knowledge you have a read-only copy to refer to if needed.

A common question we're asked is whether creating an archive removes transactions and records from your live data. Don't worry, archiving your data doesn't delete anything. It simply creates a copy so you're then free to choose what data you want to delete and what you want to keep.

You can find out more in our guide to archiving your data, including how to archive you data, and view and edit archived data.

TIP: If you want to know more about removing old data, take a look at our Tidy up your data after year end guide.


Image

Benefits for your employees
We want to help your business where we can. That's why we're offering Sage Employee Benefits for free to Sage customers for the first three months.

Leave your details