Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Error: 'The main site is no longer communicating with this Sage Drive company..' or 'The main computer ... isn't currently online'

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

This guide explains what to do if you see this message in Sage 50cloud Accounts v27 at a remote site.

Description

NOTE: Remote Data Access (formerly Sage Drive) requires a broadband Internet connection with a download speed of at least 4Mbps, and an upload speed of at least 2Mbps. You can check your connection speed at various sites online, such as www.speedtest.net

When opening or working in a Sage 50cloud Accounts v27 company that's shared using Remote Data Access, the following message may appear:

'Remote Data Access
You are a Remote Data Access remote site.
The main computer for this Remote Data Access company isn't currently online, before you continue working you must check why...'

Image

Cause

This appears on remote sites if the main computer for the company isn't currently online. For example, the computer may be switched off, or the user has chosen to work offline.

Resolution

If you receive this message, we recommend that you close Sage 50cloud Accounts and contact the user at the main site to check what is happening.

Which is the main site?

The main site is usually the location where Remote Data Access was first set up. To check:

  1. Open Sage 50cloud Accounts and log on as MANAGER.
  2. On the menu bar click Help then click About.
  3. Under Remote Data Access Information check Site is set to Main.

 NOTE: If the main site no longer exists, please contact us for further help.


If main site is switched off

If the main site has logged out of Sage 50cloud Accounts and turned off their computer, you're fine to work in Sage 50cloud Accounts at your remote site. When the main site reconnects, any changes you've made are synced to the main site.

To carry on posting, select the I confirm I have read and understood this message check box and click OK.


If main site is switched on

If the main site computer is switched on, but no-one is logged into Sage 50cloud Accounts on that computer, you're fine to work in Sage 50cloud Accounts at your remote site. When the main site reconnects, any changes you've made are synced to the main site.

You can try to refresh Remote Data Access by following these steps:

  1. Click Tools on the top when logged into your company, then click Remote Data Access.
  2. Click Lock Remote Data Access, then click Refresh Remote Data Access.

To carry on posting, select the I confirm I have read and understood this message  check box and click OK.

If the main site computer is switched on, and the user has chosen to work offline, we recommend that you stop processing at your remote site until they reconnect.

To check if they are working offline, the main site user can check if Remote Data Access: Offline appears on the status bar at the bottom of Sage 50cloud Accounts.

 CAUTION: If you continue, any changes you make from this point will be lost when the main site reconnects. When the main site reconnects, the following message appears at your remote site:

'Remote Data Access
The main site has reconnected to this Remote Data Access company.
Any changes you make now will not be overwritten by the main site.
To continue, click OK.'

Once this message appears, you should check and if necessary re-enter any postings you've lost.


Reconnecting the main site

For help with reconnecting the main site - Read more >




Find out more in our dedicated Help Centre

To help you with Remote Data Access,  we've pulled together everything you need!
Visit the Help Centre >

Need more help?

Chat online to one of our Sage experts.

Chat now >

Image