Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Correcting transactions

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

If you make a mistake when posting a transaction in Sage 50cloud Accounts, it's easy to go back and edit, delete, reverse, or unallocate the transaction.

Description

If you're unsure what changes you need to make, our in-depth guide can help. If you know what amendment you need, simply follow the relevant section below.

TIP: You can also edit, delete and unallocate transactions in the activity windows.


Edit a transaction

  1. Click Transactions then select the transaction you want to amend and click Edit.

    NOTE: Sage 50 Accounts v26.2 and above - when you apply a search that only returns one result, the Delete or Edit option can be disabled. As a work around, instead of using a search or filter, use the Find option - Read more >

  2. Edit the transaction details as required - Read more >
  3. To edit the item line details, in Item Line Details select the item to edit then click Edit Read more >
  4. To edit a payment allocation reference, in Payment Allocations, select the required item and click Edit, then amend the Payment Ref and click Close.
  5. Click Close then click Save then click Yes.

Find out what happens to a transaction when corrected >

If you are unable to edit a transaction, this is because on some transactions there are restrictions. For example, automatic transactions, older journal entries, VAT reconciled transactions etc. Instead you must reverse and, if required, repost them correctly - Find out more >


Delete or reverse a transaction

  1. Click Transactions then select the transaction you want to delete and click Delete.

    NOTE: Sage 50 Accounts v26.2 and above - when you apply a search that only returns one result, the Delete or Edit option can be disabled. As a work around, instead of using a search or filter, use the Find option - Read more >

  2. Click Delete then click Yes.

    If the transaction is VAT reconciled a message appears 'Do you wish to reverse this transaction?' select Yes.

    If the transaction is bank reconciled, a message appears advising of this, select Yes. When you re-enter the transaction, you must also bank reconcile the new transaction again.

  3. Depending on the status of the transaction, it is either deleted or reversed.

If you are unable to delete a transaction, on some transactions there are restrictions. For example, automatic transactions, older journal entries, VAT reconciled transactions etc. Instead you must reverse and, if required, repost them correctly - Find out more >


Unallocate transactions

You can unallocate sales and purchase transactions that are allocated together.

  • Click Transactions and select the transaction you want to unallocate then click Unallocate and click Yes.


  More support and information is available 

Get the most out of your software, stay ahead with trending topics and get answers from thousands of articles using the Sage Knowledgebase. Visit the Help Centre >

Need more help?

Chat to one of our Sage Ambassadors now.

Chat now

Image