Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Correct transactions

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

How to correct a mistake made when posting a transaction in Sage 50 Accounts.

Description

It's easy to go back and edit, delete, reverse, or unallocate the transaction. However, if you're unsure what changes you need to make, our in-depth guide can help. If you know what amendment you need, simply follow the relevant section below.



TIP: You can also edit, delete, and unallocate transactions in the activity windows.


Edit a transaction

  1. Click Transactions then select the transaction you want to amend and click Edit.
  2. Edit the transaction details as required.
  3. To edit the item line details, in Item Line Details select the item to edit then click Edit.
  4. To edit a payment allocation reference, in Payment Allocations, select the required item and click Edit, then amend the Payment Ref and click Close.
  5. Click Close then click Save then click Yes.

TIP: You can find out what happens to a transaction when it's corrected in our How will this affect my data? guide.

Can't edit a transaction?

On some transactions, there are restrictions, which can be why you're unable to edit a transaction. For example, automatic transactions, older journal entries, VAT reconciled transactions etc. Instead, you must reverse and, if required, repost them correctly. Find out more in our Why can't I delete or amend a transaction? guide.


Delete or reverse a transaction

  1. Click Transactions then select the transaction you want to delete and click Delete.
  2. Click Delete then click Yes.
    If the transaction is VAT reconciled a message appears 'Do you wish to reverse this transaction?' select Yes.
    If the transaction is bank reconciled, a message appears advising of this, select Yes. When you re-enter the transaction, you must also bank reconcile the new transaction again.
  3. Depending on the status of the transaction, it is either deleted or reversed.

Can't delete a transaction?

On some transactions there are restrictions, which can be why you're unable to delete a transaction. For example, automatic transactions, older journal entries, VAT reconciled transactions etc. Instead, you must reverse and, if required, repost them correctly. Find out more in our Why can't I delete or amend a transaction? guide.


Unallocate transactions

You can unallocate sales and purchase transactions that you've previously allocated together.

  • Click Transactions and select the transaction you want to unallocate then click Unallocate and click Yes.