How to add users with individual logins and passwords in Sage 50 Accounts, and manage their access permissions.
Description
Set up individual users in Sage 50 Accounts for each person processing. This helps you track each user's activity and control their access to account areas.
In network versions, setting up individual users enables simultaneous information processing by multiple people.
NOTE:
If you're using Sage 50 Accounts on a network, the user must also connect to the company data from their computer.
Resolution
Switch on access rights - single user only
If you have a multi-user version of Sage 50 Accounts, access rights is enabled by default. However, on single-user versions you have to enable this manually:
Select Settings, then choose Company Preferences.
Enter your password if required and select Parameters.
In the Others area, select the Access Rights checkbox, then press OK.
Enter the password you log on with to confirm the changes.
The default logon name is Manager with no password. If you previously used a password when accessing Sage 50 Accounts, use this password. If forgotten, you can change the manager password.
On the menu bar, select Settings then choose Access Rights and press New.
Complete the Created New User window as follows:
User or Logon name
Enter a user or logon name. This can be up to 32 characters long.
Password
Enter the password for the user. This can be up to 10 characters. Passwords are optional, except for the manager logon, which requires one.
Full Access / No Access
Full Access by default. If required, you can change this to No Access.
Press OK then press Close.
Amend access rights
You can amend each user's access level, allowing or restricting access to specific software areas as required. However, it's only possible to set up read-only access inv28.1 and above.
Select the user whose access rights you want to amend then press Edit.
Select or clear the relevant checkboxes according to the access you want to give to the user.
To give access to part of a particular module, select the adjacent plus sign. The list expands and you can select or clear the sub-categories as required.
Press OK then press Close.
NOTE:
Withdrawing access from certain software options can also withdraw access from associated options.
Upgrade your licence
Growing business? Add more companies, users, or employees to your licence with ease. Leave your details and we’ll be in touch.