The Reset Data option removes all information entered into Accounting.
This allows you to clear any practise data entered during a free trial period, allowing you to start again but keep your user, business and billing information.
When to use the reset data option
You may need to use this in the following circumstances
- You have entered dummy or practice information during a trial period, and now want to enter real company information.
- You have started using Payroll in the middle of a tax year and didn't choose the n mid year set up option. Created a blank payroll company instead of choosing mid-year setup.
- You have made errors when entering you payroll or Accounting information and want to start again.
Before you start
- Print any reports or make a note of any information you need, such as customer and supplier details, and details of your transactions.
- Disconnect any bank feeds. You will need to re-connect after you reset you data. If you have set up bank rules we recommend that export them then first and then import again after resetting your data.
Reset your data
- From Settings, choose Business Settings.
- From the Data Management section, select Reset my Data.
- Enter the email address you use to sign into your Sage service, then select Delete Data.
If you've set up Opayo integration, after resetting your data, you need to re-enter your Opayo credentials.
- If you issued any invoices with the Pay Now button prior to resetting your data, your customers can still pay you through Opayo. However, the payments for these invoices aren’t automatically processed and you need to manually record them once they appear in your Opayo account.
- If you have Opayo eCommerce account, any eCommerce transactions downloaded prior to resetting your data no longer appear, although these transactions still appear in your Opayo account.
You can restore your data if you reset it in error, or need to check a piece of information before you reset again.
Restoring data returns you to the point immediately before you chose the Reset data option.
- Go to Settings, then Business Settings, then Data Management.
- Select Restore my Data.
- Enter the email address you use to sign in, then select Restore Data.
You cannot restore data from another Sage service such as Sage 50.
You cannot restore data if you have changed your subscription or plan. For example
- You can’t restore data created in Accounting into Accounting Start.
- You can't restore payroll data if you increase or decrease the number of employees between reset and restore.
Although you can’t restore from a previous service, you can still reset your new service and start again.