By default, all new customer or supplier contacts are Active. This allows you to select them throughout Accounting Start.
If you no longer do business with some contact, make these unused contacts Inactive. This prevents you from entering new transactions for them.
Once a contact is inactive, we remove it from the selection list for new transactions. This prevents you from creating new transactions for the contact.
For audit purposes, we don't delete the contact from existing transactions or reports.
If you need to edit an existing transaction, first make the contact Active again.
You can't make a contact inactive when it has an outstanding balance. This is to make sure that you don't have leftover unpaid invoices.
Consider writing off any sales invoices that are bad debts and your customers will never pay. Find out more in our article on how to write off a sales invoice to bad debt.
To make a customer or supplier inactive:
The contact will show as Inactive or Active in the list.
To filter the list of customers or suppliers by status:
The list will show only contacts that match the selected status.