Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Enhancements to access management for Sage 200 Extra Online, Standard Online and Sage for Education

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

For security and privacy purposes, changes have been made to the process for requesting access to any Sage 200 Extra Online, Sage 200 Standard, and Sage for Education sites through the Sage Provisioning Portal.

Resolution

For security and privacy purposes, changes have been made to the process for requesting access to any Sage 200 Extra Online, Sage 200 Standard, and Sage for Education sites through the Sage Provisioning Portal portal.

This gives people who are assigned Customer Administrator or Customer Operation Agent roles more control over which users can be granted access to their Sage 200 application.

Assign user

If access to a site is requested by a user who does not belong to the customer, the Customer Administrator / Operations Agent will receive a notification via email and must approve the request.

TIP: An example of this would be when a Sage support agent or your Sage Business Partner needs to access to your Sage 200 application to help resolve an issue during a support call.

If a Sage support agent needs to assign themselves to your site, for example, the Sage BMS Online portal will present them with a form as per the image below. The agent will be required to enter a reason for the request.

Customer Approval

On clicking Save, any person that has been given the role of Customer Administrator or Customer Operations Agent will receive an email notifying them of the request for site access.

This email will contain a link that, when clicked on, will take that person to the Sage Provisioning Portal portal where they can approve the request. Alternatively, they can logon to the Sage Provisioning Portal portal through their Internet browser and navigate to Management, then Pending Site Access Requests.

From here, the Customer Administrator or Operations Agent can either approve or reject the site access request. If the request is approved, the user making the request is assigned to the site and they will receive an email confirmation which details the number of hours they have been granted to access the site.

TIP: Users granted access to the site in this manner will have a limited time of 72 hours to do so, after which they will be removed by an automated system process.

For audit trail purposes, any time someone is granted access to the site, a further email will be sent to the Customer Administrator and Customer Operations Agent roles to notify them.

If a site access request is rejected, the person can enter comments when doing so.

The user requesting access to the site will then receive an email notification advising them of this.