Summary
Description
This article has been prepared and issued to you as a goodwill gesture only and Sage accepts no liability or responsibility for its use. For further support please refer to your Business Partner.
Resolution
The following detailed steps contain everything you need to help you add watermarks to your documents using Report Designer.
This article assumes that you have located the report or layout that you want to amend and opened it in Sage Report Designer. If you need further help with this, please refer to article .
Note: If any of the panes mentioned in this section are not visible, open the View menu and select the required pane. If the pane doesn't appear, you can reset the Report Designer view to its default. For further information about this, please refer to article .
To add text as a watermark
- Within Report Designer, open the File menu and choose Watermark.
- In the Watermark Settings window, select Text Watermark, then enter the watermark settings as follows:
Enter the required text To enter the text, from the first drop-down menu, choose the text you want to show as the watermark, for example, Confidential. Alternatively, to enter your own text, click the box then enter your text. Choose a font To set the text font, from the font drop-down menu, choose the required font. Choose a size To change the text size, from the font size drop-down menu, choose the required size. Choose a colour To change the text colour, from the colour drop-down menu, choose the required colour.
If required, you can define a custom colour for the watermark:
- From the colour drop-down menu, choose Custom Colour.
- From the colour matrix, select the colour you require. Alternatively, enter the hue, saturation, luminosity, red, green and blue values for your colour.
- If required, to change the lightness and darkness, drag the slider arrow up and down the luminosity scale.
- Click Add to Custom Colours > OK.
Choose the angle of the text To show the text horizontally on the page, click Horizontal. Alternatively, to show the text diagonally on the page, click Diagonal. Adjust the transparency To adjust how transparent the text is on the page, from the Transparency drop-down menu, choose the required percentage. - To confirm the settings, click OK.
You have now added a text watermark to your document. It doesn't appear on the report design but appears once on each page when you preview or print the document. The watermark also appears when you save the document to file in a format that supports it, for example, PDF files.
To add an image as a watermark
- Within Report Designer, open the File menu and choose Watermark.
- In the Watermark Settings window, select Image Watermark, then enter the watermark settings as follows:
Select the image file To select the image, click Browse, browse to and select the image file you want to add, then click Open.
Tip: You can add images with the file types .bmp, .gif, .jpg, .jpeg, .png, .ico, .emf and .wmf.
Adjust the image size To adjust the size of the image on the page, from the Scale drop-down menu, choose the required percentage.
Report Designer v1.4.2013.11 and above - To automatically scale the image to fit the paper size, select the Scale image to fit page check box.
Tip: You can check your Report Designer version in Help > About > Application > File Version.
Choose the angle of the image To show the image horizontally on the page, click Horizontal. Alternatively, to show the image diagonally on the page, click Diagonal. Adjust the transparency To adjust how transparent the image is on the page, from the Transparency drop-down menu, choose the required percentage. - To confirm the settings, click OK.
You have now added an image as a watermark to your document. It doesn't appear on the report design but appears once on each page when you preview or print the document. The watermark also appears when you save the document to file in a format that supports it, for example, PDF files.
To save the changes to your document
- To save your changes, you must change the name and description of your document. To do this, open the Report menu, choose Report Properties, enter a new name and description for the document then click OK.
- To save the changes, open the File menu and choose Save As. From the Save As window, in the File name box, enter a file name for your amended document. If required, browse to the required location for your document then click Save. For further information about where to save your document, please refer to article .
- To close Sage Report Designer, open the File menu and choose Exit.
You have now saved your amended document.
If you are viewing this article from the Sage website, a list of Sage 200 Report Designer articles are available now.
Sage Business Partners can now log new cases online!
If you're unable to find the help you require from our online resources, log a new case with us without having to use phone or email. Simply select 'Manage your cases' from the dashboard or visit my.sage.co.uk/cases.
Sage 200 Services
Did you know Sage 200 customers now have access to a range of services direct with Sage. These include a bespoke Report Design Service, a library of How to Webinars and Ideas Portal just to name a few. Explore your potential using Sage 200 Services.
.