NOTE: This article has been prepared and issued to you as a goodwill gesture only and Sage accepts no liability or responsibility for its use. For further support please refer to your Business Partner.
NOTE: Quick steps provide the minimum amount of information you need. For further information, please refer to the Detailed steps tab.
.
NOTE: When selecting a colour for the background options, you can choose from the drop-down list or choose Custom Colour to define a different colour for your background.
TIP: You can check your Report Designer version in Help > About > Application > File Version.
The following detailed steps contain everything you need to help you change the border of an object on your document.
NOTE: If any of the panes mentioned in this section are not visible, open the View menu and select the required pane. If the pane doesn't appear, you can reset the Report Designer view to its default. For further information about this, please refer to article .
TIP: To select a single object click it once. To select multiple objects, click the first object, press and hold the Ctrl key down then click all of the required objects in turn.
.
TIP: If you have chosen to auto-hide any of your Report Designer panes, the name appears in a tab to the left or right of your window. To expand a pane, click on its name. If you have closed any of your Report Designer panes, to open them, from the View menu, choose the relevant pane.
You have now changed the border of an object. You should make any further changes you require to the document and then save your changes. For further information about how to save the amended document, please refer to the section To save the changes to your document later in this article.
This section explains the options available within the Border window and how to use them to create your border.
| Style | From the drop-down list, choose the required style for your border. |
|---|---|
| Colour | From the drop-down list, choose the colour for your border, or to define a new colour, choose Custom Colour. For information about defining a custom colour, please refer to the following section. |
| Width | From the drop-down list, select the width for your border. You can choose any width from 0.25pt to 6pt. |
| Padding | To select the amount of space to insert between your object and its border, use the up and down arrows. You can choose any value from 0 to 100. |
| Preview pane | The preview pane displays how your border will look. Select the left, right, top and bottom buttons to determine which sides of the object will display the border. |
| Rounded corner radius | To select the amount of rounding to use on the corners of the border, use the up and down arrows. You can select any value from 0 to 10, with 0 being no round corners. |
| Drop shadow depth | Select the depth of the shadow to use under your object. This setting is only valid when using a background colour for the object. |
This section explains how to define a custom colour for use with the border options within the Border window. For information about adding a border, please refer to the section To change the border of an object.
NOTE: The colour may not appear exactly as in the colour matrix due to the luminosity scale. To change the lightness and darkness specified in the luminosity scale, proceed to step 3. If you do not need to change the luminosity scale, proceed to step 4.
You have now defined a custom colour and can choose the new colour for your background from the colour drop-down list.
TIP: You can check your Report Designer version in Help > About > Application > File Version.
You have now saved your amended document.
TIP: If you have any difficulty finding a recently saved document, you can open it from the Report Designer Recent files list and save it to the required location. To open a recently viewed report, from the Sage 200 menu, choose Report Designer then from the Recent files list, click your required report.
If you add a box to a report or layout and then amend the width or style of the box in Properties > Border, the changes may not be applied. This happens if you don't specify which borders you want to change. The Modify Border window can be used to change each border individually, so you must specify which borders your changes should apply to.
To apply a width or style change, in the Modify Border > Preview area you must remove the existing borders and add them back on with the new properties.

TIP: If required, you can modify just some of the edges, for example, the top and bottom only.
NOTE: If you re-open the Modify Border window, the line width appears as 1pt. This happens because the Modify Border window automatically shows the default line width, however your previous settings are still applied.
NOTE: If you are viewing this article from the Sage website, a list of Sage 200 Report Designer articles are now available.
If you're unable to find the help you require from our online resources, log a new case with us without having to use phone or email. Simply select 'Manage your cases' from the dashboard or visit my.sage.co.uk/cases.
Did you know Sage 200 customers now have access to a range of services direct with Sage. These include a bespoke Report Design Service, a library of How to Webinars and Ideas Portal just to name a few. Explore your potential using Sage 200 Services.
Upgrade your licence
Growing business? Add more companies, users, or employees to your licence with ease. Leave your details and we’ll be in touch.
