Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Prevent postings before a specified date

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

This guide explains how to use the Lock Date feature in Sage 50cloud Accounts to stop transactions being posted before a certain date, for example, to close down a previous month or year.

Description

How it works

Once you set a lock date, if anyone tries to post a transaction dated prior to that lock date, a warning message appears.

 NOTE: This message doesn't appear if you're importing transactions from outside of the software. 

  • If you're logged in as manager you can override the warning and post to the locked period.
  • Users with lock date access can also override the lock date and post to the locked period.
  • Users with no lock date access can't post to the locked period. They can still create invoices, sales orders and purchase orders with a date before the lock date, but they can't update or post the items.

Resolution

Set a lock date

  1. Click Settings then click Lock Date.
  2. Select the Lock posting before check box, enter the required date then click OK.

It's as simple as that. If you want to control access to the Lock Date feature, for more information, read on.


Configure a user's lock date access - Sage 50cloud Accounts v27 and above

  1. Open Sage 50cloud Accounts and log in as Manager or an administrator.
  2. Click Settings, point to User Management then click Access Rights.
  3. Select the required user from the list then click Edit.
  4. Click Level of Access then expand the Settings menu.
  5. To allow access to override the lock date,  ensure the Lock date settings check box is selected. Alternatively, to remove access, clear the check box.
  6. Click Finish, click Savethen click Close.

 

Configure a user's lock date access - Sage 50cloud Accounts v26 and below

  1. Open Sage 50cloud Accounts and log in as Manager.
  2. Click Settings then click Access Rights.
  3. Select the required user from the list then click Edit.
  4. Expand the Settings menu.
  5. To allow access to override the lock date, ensure the Lock date settings check box is selected. Alternatively, to remove access, clear the check box.
  6. Click OK then click Close.

 

Image

We're always looking to improve our content based on your feedback so if you found this guide helpful, you can easily let me know by using the options below. 

Need more help?

Chat to one of our Sage Ambassadors now.

Chat now

Image