Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Archive your company data

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

This guide explains how to archive your data in Sage 50cloud Accounts.

Description

A read-only copy of your data is created when you archive, which you can access at any time. There is no affect on yout live data.

Having a read-only copy of your company data means you can clear the audit trail to delete old data from your live company, and access the archive to view historical figures and run reports. This reduces the amount of data in a company and can improve peformance, making it easier to find the information you need.

Lots of companies find this feature really useful. Let's take a look.

Resolution



Archive your data

You can archive your company data at any time.

  1. Click Tools then click Period End.
  2. Click Archive Company.
  3. You can amend the description and folder name.

    Certain alphanumeric characters can't be used when creating a folder, for example, < > . \ ? % *

  4. Click OK and click OK.

That's it! You now have a read only copy of your data.


View your archived data

  1. Click File then click Open.
  2. Click Company Archive.
  3. Select the archive data, then click Open.

    If access rights were set up on the company, you need to use the same details to access the archive..

Editing archive data

  1. Click File then click Open.
  2. Click Company Archive.
  3. Select the archive data, then click Open.

    If access rights were set up on the company, you need to use the same details to access the archive.

  4. You can:
    • Edit customer, supplier and subcontractor account details, or delete these records in line with the normal deletion rules.
    • Delete quotations, invoices, credit notes, sales orders and purchase orders.
    • Run the Clear Audit Trail routine within the archive.
  5. To return to your company data, click File, choose Open.
  6. Click Open Company Data.

Back up your data archive

You can't run a backup from within the company archive, however, you can include the archive in a live company backup.

  1. Click File then click Backup.
  2. To proceed without checking your data click No then continue to step 4.

    To check your data before taking your backup click Yes.

  3. If there are no problems, click OK.
  4. Click Close and click Close.

    If there are problems with your data, the File Maintenance Problems Report appears.

  5. Complete the Backup window as follows:

    Backup Company

    Company DetailsThe name and location of the company data that's currently open. If you're using a multi-company version, check that the correct company name is shown here.
    FilenameIf required, you can enter a new file name for your backup.
    LocationUse the Location box to enter or browse to the drive and folder you want to use for your backup.

    If you're backing up to a removable storage device, such as a USB data pen, please make sure that the device is attached to your computer before you click Browse.

    Advanced Options


    Use the Advanced Options to select the file types included in your backup. You can also enter a detailed description for the backup. To include the Archived data in your backup, click the Company Archives check box. 

    Previous Backups

    A list of the previous backups that have been taken for this company.

  6. Click OK then click OK.

Delete an archive

CAUTION: This process can't be reversed. We recommend you back up your archive data before deleting.

  1. Click File then click Open.
  2. Click Company Archive.
  3. Select the archive data you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete, to confirm the deletion click Yes, then click Close.




Need more help?

Chat to one of our Sage Ambassadors now.

Chat now

Image