Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Archive your company data

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

This guide explains how to archive your data in Sage 50cloud Accounts.

Description

When you archive your data, a read-only copy is created, which you can access whenever you like. It does not affect your live data in any way.

Read-only copies of your company data give you the ability to delete old data from your live company, and to view historical figures and run reports from the archive. By doing so, a company can reduce their data volume, improve performance and find information more easily.

Many companies find this feature extremely useful. Let's take a closer look.

Resolution

 


Archive your data

Data from your company can be archived at any time.

  1. Click Tools then click Period End.
  2. Click Archive Company.
  3. You can change the description and folder name.

    NOTE: Certain alphanumeric characters can't be used when creating a folder, for example, < > . \ ? % *

  4. Click OK and then click OK again.

That's it! You now have a read only copy of your data. 


View your archived data

To view the data in an archive once it has been created, simply follow the steps below: 

  1. Click File then click Open.
  2. Click Company Archive.
  3. Select the archive data, then click Open.

    TIP: You will need to use the same user credentials you used when creating the archive if access rights were set up for the company.

Editing archive data

  1. Click File then click Open.
  2. Click Company Archive.
  3. Select the archive data, then click Open.

    TIP: You will need to use the same user credentials you used when creating the archive if access rights were set up for the company.

  4. You can:
    • Edit customer, supplier and subcontractor account details, or delete these records in line with the normal deletion rules.
    • Delete quotations, invoices, credit notes, sales orders and purchase orders.
    • Run the Clear Audit Trail routine within the archive.
  5. To return to your live company data, click File, choose Open.
  6. Click Open Company Data, then select your company and click Open Company.

Back up your data archive

You can't run a backup from within the company archive, however, you can include the archives of a company in the backup of it's live data.

NOTE: Perform the below steps in your live company data. 

  1. Click File, then click Back up.
  2. To proceed without checking your data click No then continue to step 4.

    To check your data before taking your backup click Yes.

  3. If there are no problems, click OK.
  4. Click Close and then click Close again.

    If there are problems with your data, the File Maintenance Problems Report appears. We recommend resolving any problems before proceeding.

  5. Complete the Back up window as follows:

    Backup Company

    Company Details The name and location of the company data that's currently open. If you're using a multi-company version, check that the correct company name is shown here.
    Filename If required, you can enter a new file name for your backup.
    Location Use the Location box to enter or browse to the drive and folder you want to use for your backup.

    If you're backing up to a removable storage device, such as a USB data pen, please make sure that the device is attached to your computer before you click Browse.

    Advanced Options


    Use the Advanced Options to select the file types included in your backup. You can also enter a detailed description for the backup. To include the Archived data in your backup, click the Company Archives check box. 

  6. Click OK then click OK.

Delete an archive

CAUTION: This process can't be reversed. We recommend you back up your archive data before deleting.

  1. Click File then click Open.
  2. Click Company Archive.
  3. Select the archive data you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete, to confirm the deletion click Yes, then click Close.

 


Need more help?

Chat to one of our Sage Ambassadors now.

Chat now

Image