Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Archive your company data

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

How to archive your data in Sage 50 Accounts.

Description

When you archive your data, the software creates a read-only copy of the company. You can access this at any time, as long as you still have access to Sage 50 Accounts. It doesn't affect your live data in any way.

Read-only copies of your company data give you the ability to delete old data from your live company. You can also view historical figures and run reports from the archive. This can reduce your data volume, improve performance and find information more easily.

 

 

TIP:

You need access to Sage 50 Accounts to view an archive of your company data. If you plan to stop using Sage 50 Accounts, export your historical data to Excel before losing access.

 

Resolution

Archive your data

NOTE:

Archives don't synchronise via Remote Data Access (RDA). To access these from another RDA site, take an archive only backup, then restore on the required computer. 

You can archive data at any time.

  1. Select Tools then choose Period End.
  2. Choose Archive Company.
  3. You can change the description and folder name.

    NOTE:

    You can't use certain alphanumeric characters when creating a folder, for example, < > . \ ? % *

  4. Press OK and then press OK again.

You now have a read only copy of your data. 


View your archived data

  1. Select File then choose Open.
  2. Select Company Archive.
  3. Select the archive data, then press Open.

    TIP:

    Use the same user credentials used when the archive was created, if access rights were set up for the company.


Editing archive data

  1. Select File then choose Open.
  2. Select Company Archive.
  3. Select the archive data, then press Open.
  4. You can:
    • Edit or delete customer, supplier and subcontractor account details, where normal deletion rules apply
    • Delete quotations, invoices, credit notes, sales orders and purchase orders
    • Run the Clear Audit Trail routine within the archive
  5. To return to your live company data, press File, then choose Open.
  6. Select Open Company Data, then select your company and press Open Company.

Back up your data archive

You can't run a backup from the company archive, but you can include the archives in the live data backup.

NOTE:

Perform the below steps in your live company data.

  1. Select File, then choose Back up.
  2. To continue without checking your data, press No then continue to step 4.

    To check your data before taking your backup, press Yes.

  3. If there are no problems, press OK.
  4. Select Close and then Close again.

    If there are problems with your data, use the Check your data is in good health steps as we recommend resolving any problems before proceeding.

  5. Complete the Back up window as follows:

    Backup Company

    Company Details The name and location of the company data that's currently open. If you're using a multi-company version, check that the correct company name is shown here.
    Filename If required, you can enter a new file name for your backup.
    Location Use the Location box to enter or browse to the drive and folder you want to use for your backup.

    When backing up to removable storage, such as a USB, ensure the device is attached to your computer before you click Browse.

    Advanced Options


    Use the Advanced Options to select the file types included in your backup. You can also enter a detailed description for the backup. To include the Archived data in your backup, select the Company Archives checkbox. 

  6. Press OK then press OK.

Delete an archive

CAUTION:

You can’t reverse this process. We recommend you back up your archived data before deleting.

  1. Click File then click Open.
  2. Click Company Archive.
  3. Select the archive data you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete, to confirm the deletion click Yes, then click Close.