You always allocate a supplier refund to one of the following:
If you allocated a supplier refund, delete it before you edit on of these transactions. You can't save supplier refund's on account.
Use the From and To boxes to select the correct date range. Select More, and change the Type to Supplier Refund.
You've now deleted the refund. Any transactions you allocated to the refund now show as unpaid.